BHASMASURA TO MIDAS

 

 

 

I grew up in a place where Hindu mythological stories acted like my bed time stories. Hindu mythology has really played a role in my existence. I never considered all those spiritual stories as realistic one ‘cause they exists without a truth but their existence is  with a blind trust. A trust that binds my spiritual soul.

Since, childhood I’ve been listening to the stories from our great epic books  or I’d rather say books of trust- shiv purana, ramayan, mahabharta, devi- mahataya.  And I always wondered  if there were other gods besides our Hindu heroes of wars and Goddesses of  power etc etc.

My grandfather used to recite stories while I used to listen to his every spoken word as the words of god.  He holds a special position in the construction of my spiritual existence. One such story I remember is that of “BHASMASUR and MOHINI”.

Bhasmasura a devotee of lord shiva was desperately trying to attain a boon, a boon where whatever he touches would be destroyed and hence  he was named “bhasmasura- (the one who could turn anything into ashes/ destroy). Lord shiva, pleased by his constant attempt in pursuit of a boon granted him with the fulfillment of his wish. The first attempt of bhasmasura was to put hands on the head of shiva just to destroy his lord but luckily, shiva escaped the place and then to save shiva from the aftermath of his boon he, the lord Vishnu took the avatar or the birth of mohini and with the lady facet, lord Vishnu was successful in alluring bhasmasura in his trap and at the end bhasmasura ended up putting his hand on his own head! And this is how the dramatic bhasmasura died from his own hands.

I had absolutely no idea of what my grandfather wanted to convey with the story but all I knew that the story acted as a bed time fancy story for me at that time.

Time changed and so does the tradition. Now my father started up telling stories from greek mythology. One of my favorite has always been “Midas touch”.
Midas, a man for his greedy intentions, a king who wanted nothing just a lot of gold. A human who could magically turn anything into gold.

The only thing I could co-relate between the grandfather story telling tradition and that of my father was the “touch of hands” , the baseline of both the stories, the essence of greed.

It’s all about time and the different writers who beautifully wrote stories at the different epoch and registered their work in our human history of reading and writing. How time changed the tradition, how it changed the characters of the stories and how both the characters from different culture holds the uniformity in their existence left an indelible mark in my small mind.

“Bhasmasura to Midas” a complete voyage of history, of centuries, of culture, of moral and of tradition.

Leave a Reply

